Lil Wayne Drops New Album on His Birthday

News on the Louisiana rap and hip hop scene.

Lil Wayne Drops New Album on His Birthday

Postby props4pops on Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:24 pm

I Am Not a Human Being to Be Released Digitally on September 27, 2010

Cash Money/Universal Motown Grammy-winning, multiplatinum hip-hop icon LIL WAYNE's ninth album, I Am Not a Human Being, will be digitally released on his birthday, September 27, 2010. Boasting 10 brand-new tracks, the digital release of I Am Not a Human Being will be available for purchase at all online digital retailers three weeks prior to the album's physical release on October 12, 2010 ( pre-order CD at ). "I want to give a gift on my birthday to my loyal fans who have continued to support me," said LIL WAYNE.

The lead single from I Am Not a Human Being is an explosive street anthem called "Right Above It," featuring Drake, which has sold more than 500,000 digital units and entered the Billboard Hot 100 chart at No. 6, marking LIL WAYNE's highest debut on the chart as a lead artist and earning him his first No. 1 hit on Billboard’s Hot Digital Songs chart as a lead or featured artist. In addition to boasting three collaborations with Drake, who also appears on "Gonorrhea" and "With You," the digital release of I Am Not a Human Being features guest appearances by a bevy of other breakout superstars from LIL WAYNE's hugely successful Young Money imprint, including Nicki Minaj ("What's Wrong With Them"), Lil Twist ("Popular"), and T-Streets ("Hold Up"), along with fellow Cash Money label-mate Jay Sean ("That Ain't Me").

I Am Not a Human Being is the follow-up to LIL WAYNE’s 2010 album, Rebirth, which debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 chart and spawned the hit singles "On Fire," "Prom Queen," "Drop the World," featuring Eminem, and "Knockout," featuring Nicki Minaj. It will be LIL WAYNE's second album release in less than a year, capping off an outstanding decade that included selling 10 million records and earning eight Grammy nominations for his multi-platinum 2008 album, Tha Carter III, which shattered records by selling over one million copies in its first week of release. The New Orleans native who hails from the rough streets of Hollygrove is already a seasoned artist who released his first tracks at age 12 after he was introduced to Cash Money CEOs Ronald "Slim" Williams and Bryan "Birdman" Williams. He released the first installment of Tha Carter series in 2004, which added to his platinum plaques, followed by Tha Carter II in 2006, which further solidified LIL WAYNE’s status as one of the best MCs in the hip hop game. But it was the critically acclaimed Tha Carter III that gave him his iconic stature in popular music, paving the way for his advisory role to grow as CEO of Young Money Records.

I Am Not a Human Being Tracklisting:

01. "Gonorrhea" featuring Drake
02. "Hold Up" featuring T-Streets
03. "With You" featuring Drake
04. "I Am Not A Human Being"
05. "I’m Single"
06. "What’s Wrong With Them" featuring Nicki Minaj
07. "Right Above It" featuring Drake
08. "Popular" featuring Lil Twist
09. "That Ain’t Me" featuring Jay Sean
10. "Bill Gates"

Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:38 pm

Return to NOLA Hip Hop

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest